City of Norwich School

Head Students

Every year, CNS appoints new Head Students from Year 13 to represent the school and to work closely with the Headteacher.

The role is to be involved across the community, raise the profile of the school, equip the students better for their chosen pathways and to create opportunities other students can aspire to. I look forward to closely working with the chosen students.” Jo Philpott, Headteacher

Head Students

Congratulations to Tiegan Wilkinson, Posy O'Rourke and Michael Milne-Brown who were all selected for the roles as Head Students for 2019-20.


                  Tiegan Wilkinson                               Posy O'Rouke                           Michael Milne-Brown


Tiegan Wilkinson

“I'm Tiegan and I take Biology, Chemistry, and Maths. Being part of the team of Head Students at CNS has given me pride and responsibility for my school. I've been here for seven years now and the strong community is what has always stood out to me. Everyone wants the best for you and you want the best for them! I hope to be like a Big Sister to all the students here because family is as important as education.

"For my Legacy Project, I intend to reduce CNS' environmental impact. It makes me so proud to see this family band together to solve important issues like Climate Change; our education depends on it. Thank you to CNS for facilitating such important progress and building such a brilliant family."

Posy O'Rourke

"I have always been passionate about student voice and am keen to hear as many ideas and opinions as possible. As Head Student, I would like to work towards refining aspects of the Sixth Form experience which includes improving the study hall and common room. In addition to this, I want to work with the lower school’s council to gain a wider perspective of ideas to improve the whole school whilst working as a mentor to help facilitate change alongside these students."

Michael Milne-Brown

"As a proud Head Student of CNS, I would like to strengthen the student voice in deciding the future of our school and would also love to work for all CNSians to have the best learning experience possible, in order for them to become responsible citizens. On the other hand, I am also very keen to make CNS greener with my team, under the expertise of Ms Philpott."


Two Deputy Head Students from Year 11 have been appointed to support the leadership. Well done to Harley Cozens and Jake Cutter.      


                                           Harlie Cozens                                           Jake Cutter 


Harlie Cozens 

"Being a Deputy Head Student of CNS is a great honour and a big responsibility which enables me to help other students and give them a voice in how their school should develop and succeed. At CNS, we are a family outside family and by fulfilling my duties I am trying to make sure that every one's time at CNS is as good as mine has been. In my role I hope to be able to convey that excitement of year 7's prize through to the school, to create the same enthusiastic atmosphere for learning for all the years."

Jake Cutter

"Hello! My name is Jake and I’m currently in Year 11.  I was interested in the role for Deputy Head Student through past students and through personal ambitions of mine in future life inside and outside of school. These include helping my career and a better knowledge of the running an operation day to day. These transferable skills will hopefully help in my interest outside of school such as football, cricket and PE in general. These skills are useful to gain confidence and key skills needed in adult life. I’m extremely excited and pleased with reviving the role as I hope to give the school back something they have given me and my siblings now currently going on to adult life with an amazing platform in Science and Drama at two of the best Universities in the country."


Heads and Deputy Heads of House

The following students have also been appointed as Heads of House and Deputy Heads of House for   2019-20:

Paris Canham, Christopher Brooke, George Potter and Shelley Sullivan represent Blakeney

Juno Bain, Lohit Kannan, Sam Johns and Samantha Melton represent Holkham

Harlie Cozens, Will Dingle, Lily Hollett and James Taggart represent Kelling

Jake Cutter, Micky Gurney, Evie Hards and Hannah Cockrell represent Thornham

Amber Elliott, Ben Searcy, Annabelle Patterson and Joshua Wright represent Winterton.


Well done to all the students who will now represent City of Norwich School – An Ormiston Academy in a leadership role.